The Story of the Amulet by Edith Nesbit
Mint Editions

The Story of the Amulet by Edith Nesbit

Regular price $9.99 $0.00 Unit price per
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Trade Paperback.

The Story of the Amulet (1906) is a children's fantasy novel by English writer Edith Nesbit. The final book in Nesbit's beloved Psammead Trilogy--which also includes Five Children and It (1902) and The Phoenix and the Carpet (1904)--The Story of the Amulet is a tale of time travel, adventure, and the power of imagination. Described by American critic Gore Vidal as "a story of considerable beauty," The Story of the Amulet follows a group of children who use the powers of an Egyptian artifact to travel through time in order to bring their family back together.

Siblings Robert, Anthea, Cyril, and Jane live in central London with an old Nurse named Mrs. Green and her boarder, an Egyptologist named Jimmy. Their father, a war correspondent, has traveled to Manchuria for work, while their mother has taken their youngest brother to the Madeira islands off the coast of Portugal in order to recover from an illness. One day, the children go to the markets near the British Museum, where strange and rare objects are sold daily. There, they find their old friend "It," the sand fairy known as the Psammead, who has been captured and is up for sale as an exotic monkey. The children free It, who advises them to purchase a magical Egyptian amulet with the power of time travel. Hoping to use the amulet to reunite their family, the children journey across time to such places as Babylon, Egypt, Tyre, and ancient England in search of the missing piece that will allow them to fulfill their wish.

With a beautifully designed cover and professionally typeset manuscript, this edition of Edith Nesbit's The Story of the Amulet is a classic of English children's literature reimagined for modern readers.