OPEN for browsing! HOURS: Tues-Sat 11:00-5:00, Sun 12:00-4:00. Masks optional if vaccinated, though recommended for all. Please email michelle.souliere@gmail.com to inquire about used books in stock, or call (207)253-6808. Thank you!
OPEN for browsing! HOURS: Tues-Sat 11:00-5:00, Sun 12:00-4:00. Masks optional if vaccinated, though recommended for all. Please email michelle.souliere@gmail.com to inquire about used books in stock, or call (207)253-6808. Thank you!
Cart 0
Around the World in 80 Trees by Jonathan Drori - hardcvr
Laurence King

Around the World in 80 Trees by Jonathan Drori - hardcvr

Regular price $24.99 $0.00 Unit price per
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Hardcover.

Discover the secretive world of trees in this beautifully illustrated and captivating tour of their world!

Bestselling author and environmentalist Jonathan Drori follows in the footsteps of Phileas Fogg as he tells the stories of 80 magnificent trees from all over the globe.

In Around the World in 80 Trees, Jonathan Drori uses plant science to illuminate how trees play a role in every part of human life, from the romantic to the regrettable. From the trees of Britain, to India's sacred banyan tree, they offer us sanctuary and inspiration - not to mention the raw materials for everything from aspirin to maple syrup.

Stops on the trip include the lime trees of Berlin's Unter den Linden boulevard, which intoxicate amorous Germans and hungry bees alike, the swankiest streets in nineteenth-century London, which were paved with Australian eucalyptus wood, and the redwood forests of California, where the secret to the trees' soaring heights can be found in the properties of the tiniest drops of water.

Each of these strange and true tales - populated by self-mummifying monks, tree-climbing goats and ever-so-slightly radioactive nuts - is illustrated by Lucille Clerc, taking the reader on a journey that is as informative as it is beautiful. The book combines history, science and a wealth of quirky detail - there should be surprises for everyone.

Perfect for fans of Peter Wohlleben's The Hidden Life of Trees, this new book will certainly whet the appetite of any tree lover to take an around-the-world trip, or simply visit your local botanic garden. The perfect travel guide for nature enthusiasts.

An arboreal odyssey - NATURE

One of the most quietly beautiful books of the year - DAILY MAIL  

An irresistible mix of science, culture, botany, history and vicarious travel - SYDNEY MORNING HERALD

Reads like a love song to the natural world, brimming with ancient anecdotes contained within the earth - CULTURE TRIP